Devin Townsend’s Empath is out NOW

Devin Townsend’s[color] Empath is out NOW [/color]

An Evening With Devin Townsend Tour

Canadian heavy music artist Devin Townsend releases his new album ‘EMPATH’ today, and to coincide with that, the epic video for ‘Spirits Will Collide’ has been launched.

‘EMPATH’ is available on Limited 2 CD Digipak in O-Card (including an entire disc of bonus material), Standard CD Jewelcase, Gatefold 180G 2LP Vinyl + CD + LP-booklet & as digital album.


ORDER NOW (Century Media)
ORDER NOW (LaserEdge)

Over the past few years, the success that Devin has slowly worked for has fortunately come with the power to control his own creative destiny. The recent successes with the DVD from a sold-out Royal Albert hall, or his 2012 ‘Retinal Circus’, or last year’s ‘Ocean Machine’ live DVD with the Orchestra and Choir of State Opera Plovdiv has put him in a position where with the new album ‘EMPATH’, he will once and for all define himself as a musical force outside of any particular genre classification.

On this album Devin has decided to see what would happen if all the styles that make up his current interests were finally represented in one place. To finally shake the fear of expectation, and just do what it is he was meant to do creatively, EMPATH, true to the name, is about allowing the audience a feeling for a variety of musical emotions. The musical dynamics represented on this single album are broad, challenging, and immense. To approach this sort of work with a long history of what makes heavy music ‘heavy’, allows this to be done with a type of power rarely heard.

Joining Devin on this album is Frank Zappa alumni Mike Keneally as music director, as well as Morgan Ågren (Mats And Morgan, Frank Zappa, Fredrik Thordendal), Anup Sastry (Monuments, Periphery), Samus Paulicelli (Decrepit Birth, Abigail Williams), Nathan Navarro, Elliot Desagnes, Steve Vai, Chad Kroeger, Anneke Van Giersbergen, Ché Aimee Dorval, Ryan Dhale and the Elektra Women’s Choir.

A bold statement with massive production values and dynamic, uncompromised musicality. This is a statement about not only pursuing creative freedom in a conservative scene, but also trying to show that heavy music is truly a valid musical tool.

‘EMPATH’ will be released on Limited 2 CD Digipak (including an entire disc of bonus material), Standard CD Jewelcase, Gatefold 180G 2LP Vinyl + CD + LP-booklet & as digital album.

The full track-listing is as follows:

1. Castaway
2. Genesis
3. Spirits Will Collide
4. Evermore
5. Sprite
6. Hear Me
7. Why
8. Borderlands
9. Requiem
10. Singularity Part 1 – Adrift
11. Singularity Part 2 – I Am I
12. Singularity Part 3 – There Be Monsters
13. Singularity Part 4 – Curious Gods
14. Singularity Part 5 – Silicon Scientists
15. Singularity Part 6 – Here Comes The Sun


9 Responses

  1. So excited for this Devin. Fully support everything you release and it sounds like you poured your heart in soul in this project to a higher degree than you typically do. Can’t wait for this seemingly career-spanning album that seems to take elements from every era of your musical journey. The 29th can’t come soon enough!

  2. Pre-Ordered lmt. cd’s, LP, and cd. Can’t wait :-).

    Carte Blanche is the best starting point for you conjuring up magical soundscapes.


  3. Is there a legal way to download FLAC? I’m not into physical CDs or streaming something that requires attentive listening :)

  4. Just ordered the album and can’t wait to hear it through my system. At 60 years of age I’ve heared a lot of good and great stuff (We’ll forget the rubbish!) but your music is at least on par with the highest level that I have ever experienced. It’s inspirational, emotional and overwhelming in what can only be described as a pleasurable intensity. I really enjoy just plugging in one of my guitars at times and just accompanying you (it would be amazing to do it for real!) I would just like to say, thank you for being Devi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More News