Ocean Machine: Live at Plovdiv
July 2018

  • Date
    July 2018
  • Artist

Ocean Machine: Live at Plovdiv <br><small>July 2018</small>

On the 22nd September 2017, Devin Townsend Project played a special show at the Ancient Roman Theater in Plovdiv, Bulgaria, celebrating the 20th anniversary of the landmark Ocean Machine album in full, as well as a set of fan-requested tracks alongside the Orchestra and Choir of Plovdiv State Opera. This concert was filmed, and on 6th July 2018 it will see the light of day as ‘Ocean Machine – Live at the Ancient Theater’.

Devin comments: “Plovdiv and this live package represents a lot to me, it signifies the end of one era, and the celebration of another. Amidst a gruelling touring year, this show came together with much blood, sweat, and tears, and the result is the culmination of many aspects of my work on one stage.

Ocean machine was released 20 years ago, and though Marty (drums) is no longer with us, I was able to finally perform the album in its entirety with the original bassist John ‘Squid’ Harder on this night. On a cold evening in an old city in the ancient theatre, many lifelong milestones came to a conclusion on this night and I’m exceptionally proud of it.

The team of individuals who contributed to this project, from the musicians in the band and orchestra, to the crews locally and with this, management, artists, filmographers and most importantly, the audience… made this night a powerful and strangely bittersweet moment I am proud to have documented with this work.

This is a very special live recording of a very special night, and I hope you enjoy it as a monument to the things that inspired it all in the first place.

Love and light,
Devin Townsend


By Request Set with Orchestra
No. Title Length
1. “Truth” 5:58
2. “Stormbending” 6:04
3. “Om” 6:47
4. “Failure” 6:26
5. “By Your Command” 8:45
6. “Gaia” 7:03
7. “Deadhead” 8:24
8. “Canada” 7:21
9. “Bad Devil” 5:39
10. “Higher” 10:20
11. “A Simple Lullaby” 08:26
11. “Deep Peace” 07:52


Disc 2: Ocean Machine
No. Title Length
1. Seventh Wave 07:01
2. Life 4:38
3. Night 4:52
4. Hide Nowhere 5:31
5. Sister 2:53
6. 3 A.M. 1:29
7. Voices in the Fan 4:36
8. Greetings 2:56
9. Regulator 5:23
10. Funeral 7:58
11. Bastard 9:59
12. The Death of Music 10:49
13. Thing Beyond Things